eCat Portal : Students  Parents  Staff

Our Structure

The daily operation of The Cathedral School lies with the School Executive.

School Executive

Mr Ian Gamack - Principal
Ms Diane Brisbane - Deputy Principal - Operations
Mr Simon Midson - Head of Senior School
Mr Allan Carman - Director of Studies - Senior School
Mr Chris Anderson - Head of Middle School
Mr Luke Baills - Head of Junior School
Ms Jane Passmore - Registrar

To contact the Principal, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The overall management of The Cathedral School lies with the Board of Directors. The Board plays a critical role in the successful governance of the school, responsible for its strategic planning and policy, protection of assets, approving the budget and appointing the Principal. Theirs is a voluntary task.

Board of Directors

Mr Philip Askin - Chairman
Mr Ian Stark 
Mr Troy Popham 
Professor Nola Alloway
Mrs Carolyn McManus
Mr Ben Collings

To contact the School Board, please email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Board Directors Qualifications/Experience

Mr Philip Askin
Qualifications: LLB                    
Experience: Mr Askin is a partner with Roberts Nehmer McKee and was admitted as a Solicitor in 1981 has been practicing law since. He holds a Bachelor of Law and Diploma of Legal Studies. Mr Askin has been associated with the School since 1992. He has served as a Member of a number of Boards and Councils including The Good Shepherd Homes Council.
Special Responsibilities: Chairman of the Board and Audit and Compliance Committee.


Mr Ian Stark 
Qualifications: FAIQS
Experience: Mr Stark is a Quantity Surveyor and has been a Member of the Council/Board of Directors since 1999.
Special Responsibilities: Chairman of Operations Committee of School Board.

Mr Troy Popham 
Qualifications: BCom, Commissioner for Declarations, Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia Member, AICD, TIA Registered Tax Agent 
Experience: Troy is on the Board of Directors of Moore Stephens (Queensland) Ltd, and is the Business Services Principal in the Townsville office. He joined the firm in 1992 and has over 25 years’ experience in taxation and business services in the North Queensland region.
Special Responsibilities: Member of Audit and Finance Committee

Professor Nola Alloway
Qualifications: Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences, James Cook University
Experience: Professor Nola Alloway is Pro Vice-Chancellor, Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences at James Cook University Townsville and Cairns. Nola is also a Board Member of the Queensland College of Teachers.

Mrs Carolyn McManus
Qualifications: BBus 
Experience: Mrs McManus is a prominent businesswoman in North Queensland with five Coffee Clubs and a Ribs and Rumps franchises in her portfolio.

Mr Ben Collings

Qualifications: Bachelor of Planning, Urban and Environmental Planning 
ExperienceMr Ben Collings is experienced in town planning, property development and project management, Mr Collings is the Director of BNC Planning and Q STRATA.
Special Responsibilities: Operations Committee